Guest Reviews

Write a Review
Reviewed: Oct 31, 2015
Property
My family needed a much needed vacation and we stayed at Shore Duty for an entire week. I was very impressed with the pictures online, but I can honestly say the pictures don't do this place justice. This place was so big!!! The kitchen was huge and you could host at least 15 people for dinner and be very comfortable. My wife has a lot of family in Biloxi and we did have a dinner for 13 and everyone was blown away with how nice and spacious this place was. Being a man, I loved the huge TV in the living room with DVD players all over the condo. The master bedroom/bathroom blew me and my wife away. I could lay in bed and look out the window and see the ocean. I could go on and on, but I think you get the point. The owners have made sure this place has everything you need plus some! I will be back next year!!!! If you're wanting a relaxing vacation, this is your place. For a week, I felt like a high roller. The only bad experience was having to leave.
View Property: Shore Duty Five Unit 205
Reviewed: Sep 25, 2015
Property
We were here for a girls weekend! There was lots of room for the 6 of us! Close to restaurants and walking distance to the Flora Bama. We had a great time, and I would definitely recommend to others!
View Property: Spanish_Key_504
Reviewed: Sep 12, 2015
Property
Had a mix up in the rental of condo, but Keith responded quickly and took care of our stay at San Carlos. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this complex to all.
View Property: San_Carlos_1805
Reviewed: Jul 13, 2015
Property
We stayed at Gulf's Secret over the 4th of July and had a great trip. I don't want to mislead and say that this is the nicest beach house I've ever been in but it had a few key things going for it. They have a nice location, accept dogs, and are very affordable. In addition, the property manager was extremely responsive and helpful which is wonderful to have. All of that is what made it a good stay. The furnishings and property are a bit dated and the facilities probably need upgrading but taking into account the price of the unit I would say that the value is there and this property could enable a family/group to have a beach vacation when it might not otherwise be attainable. As long as you go into it aware of how much (or how little) you are paying in relation to other properties then I think you'll have a great time.
View Property: The Gulf`s Secret North
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2015
Property Manager
This was just our Second Annual Family Vacation and this place made it by far better than last years. With very little time to plan, since my parents did not give us kids lots of time, we were having a difficult time finding a place that could house 13 people. We initially wanted to go to Pensacola, FL but ended up in Gulf Shores and let me tell you, we are all glad we did. This house was everything we could have asked for except for not being right on the beach. This is why we give this house a 5 star rating. We knew going into it that it was a block away and even with that, it was not bad. We were able to cook and all be in the kitchen at the same time. As a matter of fact all the grandkids would sit and eat on the island while the adults took the table. The kids loved the loft and thought it was very cool. Overall, if you are looking for a place to be and have kids with you, this is it. We are already making plans for our next vacation and are seriously considering this house again.
View Property: Shore Duty Five Unit 205
Reviewed: Jul 1, 2015
Property
My Entire Group was Suprised by it, the pictures do not do it justice! The private dock lagoon outdoors is so nice and convient if you do not feel like walking the short distance to the beach!! Just sitting on the balcony watching the views was beautiful! My group would definitely choose this place again for future vacations!!!
View Property: Rising Tide
Reviewed: Jun 28, 2015
Property
Very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend for others! I was skeptical at first to rent a condo without any reviews but I am glad I did. The 3 bedroom/3 bathroom was spacious for family of 8 but we only had 5. The entire place was extremely clean upon arrival, quality furniture, a TV in all rooms, great kitchen area had everything you could need and a balcony with seating(not pictured) to enjoy the amazing view from the 18 floor! Parking was convenient and only one time did we have to park in the overflow lot across the street. Elevators were quick. The room entrance is in the foyer but you don't hear other guess. The property had security and even shopping carts to use for easy transport of bags to and from room. The pool was great and the beach access was awesome. 3 wash stations and a restroom. Could not have asked for a better place to stay. The owner Keith answered all the questions that I had in a very timely manner. The pictures don't do it justice.
View Property: San_Carlos_1805
Reviewed: Jun 27, 2015
Property
Really enjoyed the stay, wonderful view of the bay and the pool was great. The biggest hit was the kayaks and being able to fish all day and night. Our daughters used the kayaks to set out the crab traps supplied and our sons used them to carry the fishing line out to the deeper part of the water. Everyone wants to go home and get kayaks now. Have an elderly mother we take care of and she enjoyed sitting on the back covered porch and just seeing the sights and enjoying the weather. It is close to other attractions yet quiet and peaceful at the home. Our dog just loved this place as well.
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Property
It was great locations, and the condo was very clean. Keith was an excellent host, and answering everything we needed to know.
View Property: Island Dunes 117
Reviewed: Apr 25, 2015
Property
We could not have asked for a more comfortable and restful stay. The owner of the house was very friendly and a gracious host. Your covered porch was our favorite part. Of course the boys enjoyed the kayaks. And my little dog was happy with the yard. I can hardly wait to come to your beautiful house again.
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: Apr 23, 2015
Property
We had a bunch of men down for golf trip. Place was clean, had plenty of room, & we really enjoyed our stay. Would recommend it for groups or families for beach vacation.
View Property: Shore Duty Five Unit 205
Reviewed: Mar 23, 2015
Property
I was shocked at the size the moment I walked in, the posted photos do not do it justice. The overall feel of the place is clean, spacious, and very homey and cozy. The beach is right across the street and there is a perfect spot on the balcony facing the water for morning coffee or evening glass of wine. My only regrets were not bringing my k-cups for the keurig and not being able to stay longer! We will definitely be back soon.
View Property: Shore Duty Five Unit 205
Reviewed: Feb 20, 2015
Property
Simply amazing! TONS of space. Comfortable and modern furniture. It looks a feels like a personally designed home instead of the typical manufactured hotel like condos. Everything from DVDs, books, board games, to wine glass markers, and even a Keurig . No detail has been overlooked. I will undoubtedly be back next year!
View Property: Shore Duty Five Unit 205
Reviewed: Feb 19, 2015
Property
We loved this place! Very spacious and close to the beach and easy access to the beach. Not far from the Hangout, which is always a fun venue, and other restaurants. Very comfortable and big with lots to do nearby!
View Property: Shore Duty Five Unit 205
Reviewed: Dec 17, 2014
Property
LOVED it!!! Plenty of space and all the comforts of home. Can't wait to go back.
View Property: Shore Duty Five Unit 205
Reviewed: Oct 14, 2014
Property
One of the best rentals on the beach! House was very nice and VERY well equipped. I have stayed in several rentals along the beach and this one by far is in the top 3. Lots of room, amazing views, updated kitchen. I highly rate this rental.
View Property: Rising Tide
Reviewed: Jun 24, 2014
Property
The condo is nice but There is no wifi in the room, you have to go INSIDE the club house which is a drive away. The pool was so packed I could not get my foot in it. The TV only gets 15 channels which does not include espn and was very disappointed. We will not be going back. Not what I was expecting. MANAGER RESPONSE: Wifi and up graded TV package that includes ESPN and other sports channels has been added to unit.
View Property: One Club unit 1107
Reviewed: Jan 17, 2014
Property
We stayed here for a last minute weekend get away. The house is very nice but the view is even better. The sunrise every morning was beautiful. We absolutely loved the kayaks, we used them everyday. The pool was clear and my husband and son even got in even though it was January. It was cold but they warmed themselves with the outdoor shower, what a wonderful perk! Another little perk was the Keurig coffee maker. I didn't know it was there before arrival but when we went to the store to stock up on food I picked up a box of k-cups. We loved being able to bring our little dog with us, thanks Keith! We had trouble with the internet, called Keith and he had it up and running in about 20 minutes...now that's service and it came with a smile! He was very nice. Something people renting should know...it is off the beaten path. We had to drive about 15 minutes to get to stores. I knew this before hand and that was part of why we chose to stay here but if you want to be right in the thick of things, this isn't it. This is perfect for the family that wants to get away but still have all the amenities; beautiful view, beach, private pool with plenty of lounge chairs and seating, fenced in back yard, large deck with more seating, hammock, kayaks, internet and QUIET! Overall a wonderful extended weekend!
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Property
Wow.... Is the word that best describes this vacation home. My family and I absolutely adored this spot. The Flip Flop Repair Shop was so beautiful and nicely decorated. The pictures does not do this home justice. We loved the fact that we could bring our dog along. The view in the mornings was so peaceful and relaxing ,we hated to leave. We highly recommended this spot to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. Thank you Keith for sharing for your beautiful home. We will definitely be coming back!
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: Apr 15, 2013
Property
We were looking for something secluded and laid back, and this home absolutely fit the bill. The location is not typical beach, but that was ok by us. The kayaks provided were worth the price of admission on their own! Rooms are perfectly laid out for families, kitchen was functional and well stocked. The porch was the hotspot of the home. There was a lot of rain as we headed down, so the pool had quite a few leaves in it, but nothing that would keep us out of the water. The dogs had a wonderful time in the yard and swimming easily in a beautiful bay. Outdoor shower with HOT WATER (a luxury in my book) was probably a highlight for bathing the dogs and rinsing off ourselves, especially in April! Didn't hurt that there was some doggie shampoo already provided. Staying during the week meant a quiet and secluded little beach next door for us. Saturday we headed across the bay to Perdido Key. Beds and furnishings were wonderfully comfortable and we really felt we had the opportunity to unplug and relax. Will definitely be back, and appreciate the opportunity to spend time together!
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: Apr 11, 2013
Property
There were pros and cons to renting this house. First, it was a well decorated, comfortable house, and in a peaceful neighborhood setting. The fenced in yard was great for our dog. Being difficult to find a place that rents with pets, I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the place was. Thanks for allowing pets! Since the weather was cool, we couldn't enjoy the pool, which looked very inviting, but did take the kayaks out a few times and enjoyed Perdido Bay. Very nice to have these available. The porch was a great place to read, have morning coffee and watch the sunrise or sunset. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out. Keith was very accommodating all along the reservation process and a pleasure to work with. Great place to kick back and relax, you feel that you are all alone as the yard has plenty of large trees lining it. It was quite a hike to drive to Orange Beach/Gulf Shores, about 20-30 minutes. The location was the downside for us as we had to all go together when heading to the Orange Beach area. This might be desirable for those looking for a place away from it all. If we didn't have the teenagers along, it would have been nice for a couple or group of couples. The place didn't really lend itself to walks on the beach, as the shoreline area is lined with homes. Maybe it was just us, but we didn't want to infringe on what appeared to be neighboring private beach property. Would we rent it again? If we went with other adults and were looking for a relaxing place away from it all, yes. Having to all go together whenever we left the house was not ideal for us, but that's just how our family rolls, we like to go off on our own sometimes and don't like to spend alot of time on the road. Thanks for everything, Keith. It's a beautiful place.
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: Sep 23, 2011
Property
very nice home! my family stayed a week and had an excellent time. our daughter brought her dog, it is very dog friendly!!!fenced in which was easier to keep up with jazebele!!!the dog and LILY our 3yr old grandaughter. loved our on pool, specially lily!!!!beds were wonderful, slept very well. the only negative for the guys was the small tv in living area. didnt like having to watch the game/or racing on it.once we figured out the area, things were accessable,i personally enjoyed the front porch/and swing. one other thing we like to cook for ourselves a lot and we didnt have a charcoal grill!!!!!! i would recommend this lovely house. MANAGER RESPONSE: Home now has a 42 inch flat screen TV and a Big Green Egg for grilling.
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: Oct 10, 2010
Property
As a frequent user of the internet to rent vacation homes, I must say Flip Flop Repair Shop is by far our favorite and we can not wait to return as we felt like we truly have been on vacation! Everything was perfect! We took advantage of the kayaks and spent some time paddling out with the dolphins, which drove our dogs crazy back on shore (they too had a blast!) We were able to purchase incredible fresh seafood and the kitchen was perfect for a few family feasts. Keith - thank you again for the hospitality of you and your staff -- you helped us create a beautiful and memorable vacation. See you soon!!!
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: Sep 10, 2010
Property
The Flip Flop Repair Shop is the best place on this whole strip. It is everything Keith said it was. Perfect for my grand kids and wrroy free for me. Our little dog loved it too. The dolphins were fun to watch and all the birds. The place is decorated beautiful. The peace and quite and private pool....WONDERFUL! Thank you for sharing this place with us.
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop
Reviewed: Jul 24, 2010
Property
We were so excited about staying at this place. It looked awesome in the pictures and sounded perfect according to description. When we got there, we noticed we seemed to be definitely away from everything and there were lots of pine trees instead of palm trees. The neighborhood was not that impressive. In fact it was depressing looking. When you turn to go down the driveway to the house, the view is very unattractive. The house itself is nice. There was a empty lot to right of house that was like a public beach area. It wasn't really a beach though. It was small and mostly growed up with grass and trees. It was definitely not appealing. The pool was green and not in proper working order. There was sand all in bottom of pool. The water was supposedly "safe" to swim in but you couldn't see the bottom of pool. The house on the inside of descent as far as clean goes. There was dust on all ceiling fans. The return vent in ceiling was covered in dust. The dishwasher didn't work properly so dishes were not getting cleaned well. The handle came off the stove while cooking. The drain in the shower was stopped up and would fill up with water while showering. The grill didn't work. We had a snake crawling our yard. There were waterbugs on the back porch and in the house. To have paid what we did, we were disappointed. I was expecting like a community of beach houses. Well, this was far from it. We took our dogs. They seemed to have had fun but they are dogs, they would have fun anywhere. To sum it up, we will not be back and I would not recomment this place to anyone. I would maybe if had a different location on the bay where the surrounding area was prettier and cleaned up. MANAGERS RESPONSE: This was during the BP oil spill and a most difficult time. I'm not one to make excuses but with the uncertainty of the situation our community was merely trying to survive. Forced to respond to daily cancellations and a crisis environment, I failed to take care of some important details related to my business. I apologize for not provided the vacation you expected and deserved.
View Property: Flip_Flop_Repair_Shop